LibGuides: Patient & Family Health Information: General Topics

Family Medicine Websites

Family Doctor
Created by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this website provides information on health conditions and issues specific to women, men, parents, children, and seniors. It also provides guides for healthy living and over-the-counter medicines.
Text size is adjustable and content is available in Spanish.
MedlinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients. It contains information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language.
A Spanish version of the site is also available.
The Cleveland Clinic Health Information Center
The Cleveland Clinic created this site to benefit patients, the general public, and healthcare professionals by providing nearly 5,000 articles, videos, podcasts, and tools for managing your health. A Health Information Search Specialist can answer questions via a live chat service Monday through Friday, 10:00 am to 1:30 pm EST (except holidays).
Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic is the first and largest integrated, not-for-profit group practice in the world.
This website includes patient care, health information, research, patient education, and updates on Mayo Clinic and medical news through social media platforms.
Health Finder
Provided by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, this site is supported solely by U.S. government funds and does not accept paid advertisements, content, or links in any form.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration Consumer Website
This FDA produced website contains articles and updates on all FDA activities and regulated produces. Updates on consumer health are made available through social media platforms.
Text size is adjustable and some articles are offered in Spanish.
Healthy Roads Media
Quality health information is available in multiple languages and formats.
Funding for the site is provided by the National Library of Medicine.
Aetna Intelihealth
Aetna InteliHealth partners with Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine to provide consumer health information. This site is content rich, providing disease and treatment information as well as additional features like interactive health tools, ask the expert, dental health, and drug resource center.
Interactive Health Tutorials from the Patient Education Institute
From MedlinePlus: "MedlinePlus presents interactive health tutorials from the Patient Education Institute. Learn about the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment for a variety of diseases and conditions. Also learn about surgeries, prevention and wellness. Each tutorial includes animated graphics, audio and easy-to-read language."
more...less...
From the site: "The Patient Education Institute helps patients become active participants in their healthcare. We do this by simplifying health information and presenting it through interactive software. Our programs verify patient comprehension while documenting usage and patient engagement.
"More than 15 million patients use our patient education software and services, X-Plain®, every year. X-Plain includes more than 11,000 patient education items and is the largest library of multimedia patient education available."

Children's and Teen Health Websites

AAP Health Initiatives
This website is produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
Content is only available in English.
Healthy Children
American Academy of Pediatrics produced website for parents. Includes general information related to child health as well as guidance on parenting issues.
Includes a Twitter option.
Content is also available in Spanish.
Kid's Health
Produced by Nemours, this website has different portals for parents, kids, and teens.
Content is also available in Spanish.
Teen Health
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this MedlinePlus page was created for teens and parents. There are links to information on nutrition, emotions, body image, alcohol, drugs, sexuality, and other topics of interest to teens.
Content is also available in Spanish.

Other Guides

You might also be interested in one of these subject guides...

Drug Information
by Nelle Williams Last Updated Apr 4, 2023 38 views this year