Skip to main content

Mobile Resources: Medical articles & news/CME

This guide is a collection of resources for mobile technologies that are available for the UA Health Sciences Library users.

About medical apps

iMedicalApps

This website is a blog about mobile medical apps reviews and comments from medical professionals.

Mobile devices options for healthcare professionals

The webpage from the Medical Library at Yale University has information and recommendations about mobile devices options for healthcare professionals.

Medical articles, news & CME

AFP by Topic itunes Android Free

A collection of articles published in American Family Physician (AFP), American Academy of Family Physicians members and AFP subscribers get access to all articles. Others can access the online archives but only have access to abstracts to articles from the last twelve months. The app is free to download for iPhones and Android.

American Medical News for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan, Free

Full text medical news published by the American Medical Association.

Health Hotlines apple logo Free

Health Hotlines is a directory of organizations with toll-free telephone numbers. It is derived from DIRLINE, the National Library of Medicine's Directory of Information Resources Online. This database contains descriptions of almost 9,000 biomedical organizations and resources.Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

MedicalRadio apple logo Free

The app contains medical content from ReachMD with programming from their satellite radio channel in the form of podcasts and free CME/CEs with exams you can take directly from your iPhone. It has peer-to-peer content available in 15-minute programs that cover a broad range of topics for both general practitioners and specialists. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

MedpageToday Mobile apple logo android logo blackberry logo Free

Medpage Today offers breaking medical news, audio & video reports and free CME/CE courses for physicians & other health care professionals.  Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, Android, and Blackberry. 

NEJM mobile (The New England Journal of Medicine) itunes Free

This app provides access to articles in the New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM). Individual subscribers can access full texts. Free back issues are available for general public. There are three apps for iPhones, iPod touch and iPod: NEJM Image Challenge, NEJM This Week, and NEJM CareerCenter and one app for iPad: NEJM iPad edition.  

NEWS-Line apple logo Free

The NEWS-Line app features news, career listings, and events for over 20 targeted medical professions and specialties. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) itunes Android Free

Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages. Available for iPhones, Android.