Skip to main content

Mobile Resources: Licensed resources for CCHS users

This guide is a collection of resources for mobile technologies that are available for the UA Health Sciences Library users.

Mobile resources discounted for CCHS users

skyscape logo apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

CCHS Skyscape portal has a 25% discount on PDA applications.

 

University of Alabama apps & mobile ready websites

UA apps logo   apple logo android logo  blackberry logo 

The University of Alabama has free apps such as campus map, crimson ride, event calendar, faculty/staff directory, social media, etc.

UA libraries on the go website for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

The UA Libraries on-the-go website for mobile devices/phones is available for searching the catalog, finding e-journals, articles, library hours, map, and news on Twitter.

QR code for HSLapple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

Scan the QR Code for the UA Health Sciences Library for the library hours and other resources in the website.

Licensed CCHS resources

apple logoandroid logoblackberry logowindows mobile logopalm OS logo

AccessMedicine for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

Full-text e-books, podcasts, videos, images and resources includes CMDT, Diagnosaurus, Harrison's Online, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas, etc. Create personal login/password on AccessMedicine from the CCHS network computers. On your mobile device, log in with your personal account information to http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/index.aspx

ClinicalKey     

Offered by Elsevier, it is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from medical and surgical content from over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. ClinicalKey gives physicians access to trusted point-of-care content from First Consult. This resource has replaced MD Consult, which has retired as of December 31, 2014.  

DynaMed 

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. Available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, Palm OS, Windows mobile via  Omnio for iPhone/iPad, Skyscape for Android ). Create a personal account with Omnio or Skyscape. Download Omnio app from Itunes store or Skyscape app from Google Play. From settings, choose add resources. Enter DynaMed serial number. Contact the librarian for the serial number and then follow the instructions for downloading to your mobile devices.

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide itunes Android  blackberry windows phone 

The Johns Hopkins ABX (Antibiotics) Guide is an evidence-based clinical decision resource that delivers up-to-date, authoritative information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by the experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine. The app is Included in uCentral™ - Medical References and Literature Searching for Institutions by Unbound Medicine, Inc. Create a free personal account on uCentral from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, and Windows phones.

LexiComp apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

Lexicomp is an industry-leading database of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, Palm OS, and Windows mobile. Faculty can email the librarian for the access code and the installation instruction. Residents and students can purchase discounted individual handheld software packages: click pricing link and purchasing link.

Natural Medicines  apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

Natural Standard is an online resource that provides high quality, evidence-based information on complementary & alternative therapies. Available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, Palm OS, Windows mobile via Skyscape. Email the librarian for the access code and the installation instruction. 

RadioGraphics for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

The e-journal is available for full text from January 1981 to one year ago thru Web browser on mobile device.

Radiology for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplanThe e-journal is available for full text from January 1999 to one year ago thru Web browser on mobile device.

STAT!Ref  apple logo blackberry logoandroid

The STAT!Ref Mobile App takes your healthcare e-sources on the go with powerful interactive functionality. The app also features the core EBM calculator "MedCalc 3000 Complete Edition." Check out the list of their core resources here.

Click for instructions and links to the STAT!Ref Mobile apps. Go to myStat!Ref and create a free personal account on STAT!Ref from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices. Click the “Temporary Login Account” tab and click the “Activate/Renew” icon. Log in with your personal account information. The free app is available for iphone, ipad, Blackberry, and Android. 

UpToDate app logo Android logo Windows logo

A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care. Create a free personal account on UpToDate from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iPhone and iPad, Android, and Windows8 Tablet. It also requires you to login from this link from our CCHS network computers every 30 days to verify your affiliation. 

VisualDx 

VisualDx is an online resource that provides a self-directed, patient-based approach to improving pattern recognition and education in visually diagnosable areas of medicine. Create a free personal account on VisualDx from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iphone, ipod, ipad, and Android.