UA Health Sciences Library Blog

PubMed "Check for Full Text" Button Experience

Previously, if you accessed PubMed through the UA Health Sciences Library website, a crimson button appeared only on articles for which PubMed knew UA had full text access. The list was incomplete, and it wasn't clear what to do if you wanted an article for which we didn't have holdings. A new "Check for Full Text" button is now appearing on all article pages and in the search results beneath each record when results are set to the format "Abstract.". When you click the button, a new tab will open with either links to full text articles on journal websites or in databases that will work off-campus OR with links to forms that will allow you to request the item through Interlibrary Loan (or even check for the item in UAB's collection if you are associated with both). Images and instructions included below. You can try it out in PubMed now. 

To see the buttons when you search, access PubMed through the Health Sciences Library website, bookmark https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?otool=uahscdlib, or set your “Outside Tool” to University of Alabama Health Sciences Library in your My NCBI Site Preferences for PubMed (instructions below). Please contact Clinical/Technical Services Librarian Andrea Wright at alwright1@ua.edu with any questions or issues.

Check for Full Text Button on Article Record Page:

Check for Full Text Buttons on PubMed Search Results Page:

How to Use the Check for Full Text Button

1. Once you identify an item of interest in PubMed results, click on the Check for Full Text Button displayed beneath the citation or abstract displayed on the results list in abstract view or on the item page. (Example below.)
   
2. A new tab will open displaying either:
   • A. links to the full text of the article in question, or
   • B. links to request forms for interlibrary loans (ILL) for College of Community Health Sciences patrons and other UA patrons, a link to check UAB's collection for UASOM medical students and faculty with UAB appointments (and BlazerID logins and passwords), as well as links to check for open access versions and to perform a title search in Google Scholar to seek the full text on the open web.
3. Choose the appropriate link and click to be redirected to the full text or order form.
4. If one full text link does not work properly and more are present, try another link.
5. If you are unable to follow the links and are an active student, faculty, or staff member at the University of Alabama, contact the library for support. 

Adding the UA Check for Full Text Button to your My NCBI Account

My NCBI accounts can be used to save searches and results in PubMed, create shared bibliographies, and manage PubMed preferences. They are also used to manage NIH Public Access mandate compliance. If you are signed in, you can begin by clicking the "Outside Tool" link in step 3.

1. Sign into your My NCBI account, or create a My NCBI account
2. On the My NCBI homepage, click on NCBI Site Preferences in the top right 
3. Under PubMed Preferences, choose Outside Tool
4. Click on the U link in the alphabetical list to limit results to those beginning with U, scroll to "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" and click the radio button to the left.
5. Scroll back to the top or bottom of the page and click the "Save" button. UA's "Check for Full Text" button should now appear whenever you are logged in to My NCBI.