Skip to Main Content

Accessing Full-Text through HSL Resources: Home

Patrons may see Check for Full-Text at HSL links or buttons when they navigate to PubMed, Google Scholar, or Trip Database through the library web page or when they link the institution to their accounts in these tools. Instructions below.

Using the Check for Full Text Button

  1. Once you identify an item of interest in your results, click on the Check for Full Text link or button displayed beneath the citation or abstract. In Pubmed, this is displayed on the results list in abstract view or on the item page (example below). In Google Scholar, text links often appear the right of the result.
    Check for Full Text Button
  2. A new tab will open displaying either:
    • A. links to the full text of the article in question, or
    • B. links to request forms for interlibrary loans (ILL) for College of Community Health Sciences patrons and other UA patrons, a link to check UAB's collection for UASOM medical students and faculty with UAB appointments (and BlazerID logins and passwords), as well as links to check for open access versions of the article or to perform a title search in Google Scholar to seek the full text on the open web.
  3. Choose the appropriate link and click to be redirected to the full text or order form.
  4. If one full text link does not work properly and more are present, try another link.
  5. If you are unable to follow the links and are an active student, faculty, or staff member at the University of Alabama, contact the library for support. Information is provided on the right.

Adding the UA HSL Check for Full Text Button to My NCBI

My NCBI accounts can be used to save searches and results in PubMed, create shared bibliographies, and manage PubMed preferences. They are also used to manage NIH Public Access mandate compliance. If you are signed in, you can begin by clicking the "Outside Tool" link in step 3.

  1. Sign into your My NCBI account, or create a My NCBI account
  2. On the My NCBI homepage, click on NCBI Site Preferences in the top right 
  3. Under PubMed Preferences, choose Outside Tool
  4. Click on the U link in the alphabetical list to limit results to those beginning with U, scroll to "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" and click the radio button to the left.
  5. Scroll back to the top or bottom of the page and click the "Save" button. UA's "Check for Full Text" button should now appear whenever you are logged in to My NCBI.

Adding UA HSL to Google Scholar Library Links

  1. Visit Google Scholar while signed in with your Google Account.
  2. Click on the menu icon  in the top left corner of the page.
  3. Choose "Settings" from the left side-bar menu.
  4. Choose "Library Links" from the menu on the upper-left.
  5. Search for Alabama Health Sciences Library and check the box to the left of "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library - Check Full Text at UA HSL".
  6. Click the "Save" button. Use the "Check Full Text at UA HSL" link to the right and underneath Google Scholar results as you search.

Adding UA HSL as your Institution in Trip

  1. Sign in to your Trip account or create a Trip account.
  2. Click on your name in the top right corner to access your profile.
  3. Scroll to the area of the profile labeled "Your Institutions," and choose "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" from the drop-down menu for one of the institution slots.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the profile. "Full text: University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" links will now appear beneath relevant results.