LibGuides: Open Access Publishing: Where To Publish

Open Access Links

Jisc
This searchable database provides information about the open access publishing and archiving policies of many journals, publishers, and key funding agencies.
Open Access and Impact
A mounting body of research continues to suggest that making your work open access, in any form, increases its impact.
Scholarly Kitchen
"What's Hot and What's Cooking in Scholarly Publishing" - the scholarly publishing and communication blog of the Society of Scholarly Publishers.

Open access logo of an orange open lock

There are many discipline-specific as well as multi-disciplinary open access journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata.

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
UA campus; remote with MyBama login
Cabell’s provides an interactive, searchable database which covers 18 distinct academic disciplines from more than ten thousand international scholarly journals. Includes titles in health administration, community and global health, psychiatry, medical education, nursing, and other related topics, but currently missing many titles in clinical medical sciences.

UA Institutional Repository
The UA IR collects, preserves, and distributes digital scholarly and research materials created by The University of Alabama community. You are invited to include your research data, as well as your publications, in the institutional repository.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a full-text, open access database (to be distinguished from PubMed which is a citation database) administered by the National Library of Medicine. Depending on publishers' policies, authors can submit published articles for inclusion and are required to do so in the case of NIH-funded research.
Open DOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories. This directory provides a searchable database of academic open access repositories. Here you can search either for repositories or for repository content.