Skip to main content

UA Health Sciences Library Blog

Check for Full Text from Google Scholar and Trip Database

by Andrea Wright on 2019-04-29T16:30:25-05:00 in Electronic Resources | Comments

Our patrons can now check for full text through the UA Health Sciences Library from two popular, freely-available resources: Google Scholar and Trip Database. Read on for details and instructions for each below!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers an easy way to quickly search scholarly publications from across the web, but previously it could be challenging to get access to the full-text of articles not freely-available online, especially when off-campus. Now, if you access Google Scholar through the link on the HSL website, use it while on-campus at CCHS, or add "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" to your "Library Links" under settings, links to check for full-text will appear to the right or underneath each result (see image below). Following the links will search the UA HSL collection for full-text or provide a form to order the article through Interlibrary Loan. (Learn more about navigating to full-text from the Article Linker Guide.)

Google Scholar results with links to full text

Adding UA HSL to your Google Scholar Library Links

  1. Visit Google Scholar while signed in with your Google Account.
  2. Click on the menu icon in the top left corner of the page.
  3. Choose "Settings" from the left side-bar menu.
  4. Choose "Library Links" from the menu on the upper-left.
  5. Search for Alabama Health Sciences Library and check the box to the left of "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library - Check Full Text at UA HSL".
  6. Click the "Save" button. Use the "Check Full Text at UA HSL" link to the right and underneath Google Scholar results as you search.

Trip Database

Trip is a freely-available clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice. Now when you access Trip from the UA campus, use the link from the library website, or associate University of Alabama Health Sciences Library as an institution on your account, full-text links will appear beneath research articles in your Trip results.

Trip results with links to full text

Adding UA HSL as an Institution in Trip

  1. Sign in to your Trip account or create a Trip account.
  2. Click on your name in the top right corner to access your profile.
  3. Scroll to the area of the profile labeled "Your Institutions," and choose "University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" from the drop-down menu for one of the institution slots.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the profile. "Full text: University of Alabama Health Sciences Library" links will now appear beneath relevant results.
  5.  

Please contact Andrea Wright at 205-348-1335 or alwright1@ua.edu if you have any questions or issues.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Subjects



Electronic Resources

  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...