Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Identifying Relevant Journals
SPI-Hub: Scholarly Publishing Information Hub
Free Public Access
Decision support journal identification & evaluation tool for prospective authors. Identifies journals based on topics, and allows for comparison of impact factors, indexing location, open access and archiving policies and more from the Center for Knowledge Management at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.
JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Have you recently written a paper, but you’re not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on ‘Find journals’, ‘Find authors’ or ‘Find Articles’. A keyword search is also available.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
UA campus; remote with MyBama login
Cabell’s provides an interactive, searchable database which covers 18 distinct academic disciplines from more than ten thousand international scholarly journals. Includes titles in health administration, community and global health, psychiatry, medical education, nursing, and other related topics, but currently missing many titles in clinical medical sciences.
Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
Journals Currently Indexed in MEDLINE
Searchable list of journals currently indexed in the MEDLINE, articles published in these journals will be findable in PubMed and other resources that include the MEDLINE index
Journal Ranking Tools
Journal Citation Reports
A database of Thomas Reuters, JCR offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
Journal metrics available by choosing "Sources" in top of page menu.
Avoiding Predatory Publishers
Questions to ask yourself:
Resources for Evaluation
Think. Check. Submit
Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research.
Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
Journal Evaluation Tool from Loyola Marymont University Librarians
Follow a checklist to assign values to specific features of a journal, then add up the scores to receive a rating
Always feel free to ask your librarians!