LibGuides: Population Health: Health Policy

Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical sciences database including MEDLINE index, as well as publications supported by federal funding

Nexis Uni
Full text database of business, industry, legal, and news content
Public Affairs Index
Covers all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large database of publications across sciences, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools for journal, citation, and author analysis.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Tool for searching Science Citation Index Expanded, includes Journal Citation Reports analysis tool and access to other interdisciplinary collections

Alabama Center for Health Statistics
The Center for Health Statistics collects and tabulates health-related statistical data and operates the vital records system for the State of Alabama
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available
CMS Data Navigator
Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for Medicare and Medicaid or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care
Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov replaces American FactFinder as the way to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau
Data.gov
Open data repository of the US government
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS compiles statistical information to help guide public health and health policy decisions
WHO Health Data and Statistics
Links WHO's Global Health Observatory (GHO), Global Health Estimates (GHE), and the WHO Mortality Database.
World DataBank
World Bank's database including World Development Indicators and Health Nutrition and Population Statistics

ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in public health, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Statistical Insight
Statistics produced by federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations with advanced PowerTables which allow direct searching for a table based on subject terms, coverage date, and other criteria. Also includes updated links to the full text of many statistical reports on government websites.