Skip to Main Content

Population Health: Health Systems

A resource to support students in the Population Health MS program at UA CCHS

Databases

PubMed
Medical sciences database including MEDLINE index, as well as publications supported by federal funding

Nexis Uni
Full text database of business, industry, legal, and news content

Scopus
Large database of publications across sciences, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools for journal, citation, and author analysis.
Web of Science
Tool for searching Science Citation Index Expanded, includes Journal Citation Reports analysis tool and access to other interdisciplinary collections

Statistics/Data

AHRQ Data Resources
Includes the Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS®) Database, and HCUP Statistical Briefs
CMS Data Navigator
Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for Medicare and Medicaid or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care
Data.gov
Open data repository of the US government

Journals

Books

Basics of the U. S. Health Care System by Nancy J. Niles
Publication Date: 2021
Delivering Health Care in America, 8e by Leiyu Shi; Douglas A. Singh
Publication Date: 2021
The US Health Care Industry by David S. Guzick
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook Integrated Care by V.E. Amelung; V. Stein; N. Goodwin; R. Balicer; E. Nolte; E. Suter (Eds)
Publication Date: 2017
Healthcare Management by Volker Eric Amelung
Publication Date: 2019
Health Insurance, 3e by Michael A. Morrisey
Publication Date: 2020
Health Insurance Systems: An International Comparison by Thomas Rice
Publication Date: 2021
Managing Improvement in Healthcare by Aoife M. McDermott; Martin Kitchener; Mark Exworthy
Publication Date: 2017
Measuring ROI in Healthcare by Jack Phillips; Victor Buzachero; Patti Phillips; Zack Phillips
Publication Date: 2013
Population Health Management in Health Care Organizations by Timothy R. Huerta (Ed); Jennifer L. Hefner (Ed); Ann Scheck McAlearney (Ed)
Publication Date: 2014
Understanding Value Based Healthcare by Vineet Arora; Christopher Moriates; Neel Shah
Publication Date: 2015
The U. S. Healthcare Ecosystem: Payers, Providers, Producers by Lawton Robert Burns
Publication Date: 2021