Skip to main content

Mobile Resources: Free & Popular

This guide is a collection of resources for mobile technologies that are available for the UA Health Sciences Library users.

University of Alabama apps & mobile ready websites

UA apps logo   apple logo android logo  blackberry logo 

The University of Alabama has free apps such as campus map, crimson ride, event calendar, faculty/staff directory, social media, etc.

UA libraries on the go website for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

The UA Libraries on-the-go website for mobile devices/phones is available for searching the catalog, finding e-journals, articles, library hours, map, and news on Twitter.

QR code for HSLapple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

Scan the QR Code for the UA Health Sciences Library for the library hours and other resources in the website.

Frequently Used Free Medical Apps

iphone logo  android logoblackberry logowindows mobile logopalm OS logo

ACC Pocket Guidelines  Apple blackberry Android

The guides is a clinical practice support tool from the American College of Cardiology (ACC) Foundation. It includes all of the ACC/American Heart Association (AHA) practice guidelines in a concise, easy-to-read format. Available for iPhones, Blackberry, and Android.

CDC apple logo

The official app by Centers For Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) helps you explore a variety of health information including our health articles, popular journals, timely updates and access to social media. This application is a companion to CDC’s trusted website (www.cdc.gov).  Available for ipad.

Diagnosaurus 2.0 apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

The Diagnosaurus 2.0 tool which has 1000+ differential diagnosis to help you make informed decisions. It includes 1000+ differential diagnoses, search by disease, symptom, or organ system, derived from Quick Answers on AccessMedicine.

Epocrates MedTools apple logo

Epocrates MedTools has a variety of free applications, including calculators and conversion tools. These apps are compatible for Palm OS and Windows Mobile. A new collection of MedTools for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch is available now in MedTools for iphone.

Epocrates Rx

The mobile Epocrates Rx provides free drug reference, available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, Windows Mobile, and Palm OS. .

ICD Sherpa for ICD-10 Codesapple logo

The app is a free app for ICD-10 codes onto your iPhone. Codes are searchable and browsable by traditional categories and you can search by code, diagnosis, and description simultaneously.  Available for iPhone, iPad, & iPod Touch. Free

Medscape apple logoandroid logoblackberry logo

The free Medscape app by WebMD, LLC. is a large database for drug information and latest news about drugs. Available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, and Blackberry.

MedlinePlus (English) (Spanish) and all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

Access MedinePlus on-the-go for patient education and consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Available for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan.

Micromedex Drug Information  for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan apple logoapp

The free database provides comprehensive drug information through an unbiased editorial process. Available for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan. There is a free app for iphone, ipod, and ipad.

NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

A collection of free mobile apps and sites from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Access the web page thru Internet. 

MobilePDR all mobile devices 

MobliePDR by Skyscape is available for all full-time practice prescribers. It is an authoritative source for Food and Drug Administration-approved drug labeling information on more than 2,400 prescription drugs. It includes full prescribing information as well as color images of medications. Available for iPhones, Android, Blackberry, Palm OS, WIndows mobile. 

MyMedList itunes 

MyMedList (MML) allows users to electronically manage their medication list(s). Medication lists can be e-mailed or printed, can serve as a reminder for taking medications, or be shown as reference information in doctor’s offices or hospitals. Available for iPhones. 

Pubget Mobile and all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

Access articles and e-journals in PubMed and get direct access to PDFs from all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan.

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) itunes Android

Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages. Available for iPhones, Android.

PubMed Mobile and all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan

Search PubMed Mobile for articles and e-journals from all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan.

RuralMed AL apple logo

RuralMed AL is an in house effort by the College of Community Health Sciences at the University of Alabama, dedicated to bringing resources and patient handouts for rural physicians in Alabama. The app is updated frequently with medical resources available from the CCHS. Available for iphone and ipad.

WorldCat Mobile apple logoandroid logo

WorldCat Mobile has a collection of apps to help you find books and other versions in the world's largest database WorldCat from mobile devices.