The University of Alabama has free apps such as campus map, crimson ride, event calendar, faculty/staff directory, social media, etc.
for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan
The UA Libraries on-the-go website for mobile devices/phones is available for searching the catalog, finding e-journals, articles, library hours, map, and news on Twitter.
Scan the QR Code for the UA Health Sciences Library for the library hours and other resources in the website.
AccessMedicine for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan
Full-text e-books, podcasts, videos, images and resources includes CMDT, Diagnosaurus, Harrison's Online, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas, etc. Create personal login/password on AccessMedicine from the CCHS network computers. On your mobile device, log in with your personal account information to http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/index.aspx
Offered by Elsevier, it is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from medical and surgical content from over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. ClinicalKey gives physicians access to trusted point-of-care content from First Consult. This resource has replaced MD Consult, which has retired as of December 31, 2014.
The Johns Hopkins ABX (Antibiotics) Guide is an evidence-based clinical decision resource that delivers up-to-date, authoritative information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by the experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine. The app is Included in uCentral™ - Medical References and Literature Searching for Institutions by Unbound Medicine, Inc. Create a free personal account on uCentral from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iphone, ipod, ipad, Android, Blackberry, and Windows phones.
Lexicomp is an industry-leading database of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Available for iPhone, iPod, iPad, and Android. There are a limited number of mobile licenses available to CCHS. Faculty, residents and medical students can email the librarian for the access code and the installation instructions.
The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases. CME is an option, as well as Antimicrobial Therapy and Drug Interactions. Available for iPhone and Android. Click on Mobile Apps on the left hand side of the page for instructions and registration.
Read by QxMD provides a single place to keep up with new medical and scientific research. Curate your feed by filtering for your profession/specialty/location and favorite journals. You can also save collections of articles important to you. Set your UA HSL as your institution in the app settings for automatic full-text access to UA collections.
A comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care. Create a free personal account on UpToDate from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iPhone and iPad, Android, and Windows8 Tablet. It also requires you to login from this link from our CCHS network computers every 90 days to verify your affiliation.
VisualDx is an online resource that provides a self-directed, patient-based approach to improving pattern recognition and education in visually diagnosable areas of medicine. Create a free personal account on VisualDx from the CCHS network computers. Download the app to your mobile devices and log in with your personal account. The free app is available for iphone, ipod, ipad, and Android.
