Skip to main content

Mobile Resources: Clinical applications

This guide is a collection of resources for mobile technologies that are available for the UA Health Sciences Library users.

Core clinical apps

3D Brain apple logo Free

The app allows you to use your touch screen to rotate and zoom around 29 interactive structures. Discover how each brain region functions. Availalbe for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

3M™ Littmann® SoundBuilder apple logo Free

The app is a learning tool designed to help improve the auscultation skills of students and practicing clinicians. There are 14 unique lessons - based upon key heart sounds - that combine text, a virtual mannequin, 3D cardiac animation and dynamic waveforms. Availalbe for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

ACC Pocket Guidelines  Apple blackberry Android Free

The guides is a clinical practice support tool from the American College of Cardiology (ACC) Foundation. It includes all of the ACC/American Heart Association (AHA) practice guidelines in a concise, easy-to-read format. Available for iPhones, Blackberry, and Android.

AHRQ ePSS apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobileFree

The Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is a quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, Palm OS, and windows mobile.

ARUP Consult apple logo Free

ARUP Consult® is a laboratory test selection and decision support tool provided at no cost by ARUP Laboratories and designed for use by health care professionals. This application puts over 300 disease-related topics and algorithms in the palm of your hand. The personalized feature "My Top Topics" allows you instantaneous access to your favorite content. Consult’s evidence-based clinical topics and diagnostic algorithms are regularly updated by our group of expert authors at the University of Utah School of Medicine and ARUP Laboratories. Your application will notify you of content updates while still allowing you to browse and search for topics. Available for iphone, ipod touch. 

Blausen Human Atlas HD apple logo Lite version is free

The 3D HD human atlas also includes female anatomy to the rotatable human figure, and added airplay support. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

Dragon Medical mobile apple logo Free for eScription customers

Physicians use the apps to dictate "real-time" into their EHR in their own words, which allows them to review, sign, and make their notes available for other clinicians use with Nuance's eScription transcription platform, including Dragon medical search, Dragon medical mobile dictation, Dragon medical mobile recorder, and Nuance Healthcare Development Platform. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.

Diagnosaurus 2.0 apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile Free

The Diagnosaurus 2.0 tool which has 1000+ differential diagnosis to help you make informed decisions. It includes 1000+ differential diagnoses, search by disease, symptom, or organ system, derived from Quick Answers on AccessMedicine.Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, Palm OS, and windows mobile.

Eponyms (for students) apple logo android logo Free

Eponyms brings a short description of more than 1600 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node). A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch,and Android.

FRAX by Doctot itunes app $5.99

The Fracture Risk Assessment Tool (FRAX) is a set of algorithms developed by the World Health Organization to assess an individual’s ten year probability of fracture.Doctot FRAX also includes features such as: 
- a Patient Results Management System (e.g Save, Delete & Sort options) 
- the Automatic Email Generation of each patient assessment result 
- PIN Protection for security purposes
- Shake-to-Reset Scale functionality 

Available for iPhone, iPod touch, iPad.

Geriatrics at Your Fingertips   apple logoandroid logoblackberry logo

The web edition provides accessible, concise information for any healthcare professional or trainee caring for older adults with complex, chronic diseases and disorders. This site contains all the content found in the annually updated print edition, including:over 100 tables focused on current medication use and clinical guidelines, and interactive calculators, assessment instruments, and algorithms.

Registration is free to access the website, paid mobile apps are available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, and Android.

ICD9 Consult apple logoFree

The app loads the complete 2011 ICD-CM onto your iPhone. Codes are searchable and browsable by traditional categories and you can search by code, diagnosis, and description simultaneously.  Available for iPhone, iPad, & iPod Touch. Free

ICD Sherpa for ICD-10 Codesapple logoFree

The app is a free app for ICD-10 codes onto your iPhone. Codes are searchable and browsable by traditional categories and you can search by code, diagnosis, and description simultaneously.  Available for iPhone, iPad, & iPod Touch. Free

Johns Hopkins’ Poc-IT Guides apple logoandroid logoblackberry logo windows mobile logo

The Guides provide evidence-based clinical decision resources, including ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, and Windows mobile. .

MediBabble Translator apple logo Free

The medical translation tool is a history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.

Medical Spanish (with audio) apple logo

The app is a medical Spanish phrasebook with audio, search function, and bookmarking. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch. $5.99

National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) Guidelines apple logoandroid logo Free

Access to the NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology. Users must complete the free registration on NCCN.org. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, and Android.

Radiology 2.0 apple logo Free

The ipad app is a series of cases that allow the user to simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation.Available for ipad

Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile Free

The database contains selected sections on how to diagnose & treat during mass casualty radiological/nuclear events, just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise and web-based information that is also downloadable in advance. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, Palm OS, and Windows mobile. .

Shots by STFM Group on Immunization Education apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile Free

The app is a quick reference guide to the current year Childhood and Adolescent Immunization Schedules, a collaboration of the ACIP, AAP and AAFP, and the Adult Immunization Schedule, recommended by the ACIP.  Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, and Windows mobile.

Unbound Medicine apple, android, blackberry, palm OS, windows mobile

Unbound Medicine offers one of the largest collections of textbooks and clinical tools including Harrison's Manual of Medicine and many pocket guides. Available for iphone, ipad, ipod touch, blackberry, Android, Palm OS, and Windows mobile.

WebMD apple logoandroid logo Free

The app is a convenient tool to look up symptoms, treatments, first aid, and basic drug information. Available for iphone, ipad, and Android.

Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER) for all mobile devices with WIFI or dataplan,  apple devices Android  Free

WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Available thru web browser with Internet connection. Also available for iphone, ipod touch, ipad, and Android. 

 

Apps for clinical trials

Breast Cancer Drug Trials apple logo 

The app includes clinical trials updated daily.  You can search by study phase, status, gender, age, location or patient health. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch. $0.99.

Clinical Trials apple logo

The app provides mobile access to information on more than 98,000 registered clinical trials from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health database. Main features include a full menu of advanced search options, allowing for searches by clinical trial type (interventional, observational or expanded access), location, phase (I, II, III or IV), open or closed status, and more; a unique user voting system that allows users to vote on the most important clinical trials of the week, month, and all-time periods.Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch. $3.99

Drug Trials apple logo Free

The app includes drug trials updated daily.  You can search by study phase, status, gender, age, location or patient health. Available for iphone, ipad, and ipod touch.